Secretary: Dianna Phu

Important! Please do not create a duplicate login if you already have one. If you have forgotten your password click the "Request new password" tab above to reset your password.


Dianna Phu 

The Houston Geological Society is an important cornerstone for the geo-professionals in the Houston area and a critical hub of knowledge-sharing for our global profession. I have enjoyed every opportunity to serve the society and participate in the broad range of learning, networking, and outreach events that are coordinated by this amazing group of volunteers. It would be my honor to serve the society as Secretary for the 2020-2021 season and I look forward to an engaging year of continued growth and development, for both myself and the HGS. 


University of Houston, B.Sc. Geology & Geophysics, Cum Laude

Professional Experience:
2011 – Present Senior Geologist, Intecsea
2008 – 2011 Project Manager / Senior Geologist, Geoscience Earth & Marine Services, Inc. (GEMS)
2006 – 2008 Geologist, GEMS
2000 – 2006 Associate Geologist / Geological IT Specialist, GEMS
1999 – 2000 Geoscience Assistant, GEMS
1997 – 1999 Thermochronology Laboratory Assistant, University of Houston – Dr. Peter Copeland

Professional Affiliations:
Certified Petroleum Geologist (CPG), AAPG Division of Professional Affairs, No. 6147
Licensed Professional Geoscientist (PG), Texas: Geology, License No. 4237

Gulf Coast Association of Geological Societies (GCAGS)
• 2019 Convention Website Manager
• 2014-Present Social Media Chair
• 2015 Convention Secretary & Website Manager
Active Member of Houston Geological Society (HGS)
• 2017-Present Communications Co-Chair
• 2010-Present Social Media Chair
• 2006-Present Website Committee
• 2006-Present Continuing Education Committee
• 2007-2012 Geoscience Day Planning Committee
• 2005-2007 NeoGeos Chair
Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) Program Committee (2014-2017)
• 2017 Networking Committee Mentor
• 2016 Networking Committee Chair
• 2015 Networking Committee Vice-Chair
OTC The Next Wave (TNW) Planning Committee (2006-2014)
• 2014 TNW Mentor
• 2013 Chair
• 2012 Chair-Elect
• 2011 Social Media Sub-Committee Chair
American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG)
AAPG Division of Professional Affairs (DPA)
• 2015-2016 Gulf Coast Section Councilor
• 2013-2015 Gulf Coast Section Councilor Alternate
• 2013-2016 DPA Website/Social Media Chair
SUT-US Offshore Site Investigations & Geotechnics (OSIG) Committee, Associate Member

Awards & Recognition:
2016 Gulf Coast Association of Geological Societies (GCAGS) Special Commendation Award
2014 Houston Geological Society (HGS) Distinguished Service Award
2011 HGS President’s Award
2007 HGS Rising Star Award
2000-2001 BP-Amoco Academic Scholarship
2000-2001 University of Houston Geoscience Alumni Association (UHGAA) Academic Scholarship
2000 UHGAA Field Camp Scholarship
1999-2000 Outstanding Junior Award
1998-1999 Phillips Petroleum Scholarship
1998-1999 UHGAA Dalton Null Memorial Scholarship
1999 HGS Undergraduate Scholarship

Thursday, February 27, 2020