Lectures and Courses


The HGS Continuing Education Committee organizes and presents short courses, seminars, and symposia for HGS members and the local geoscience community. We use the efforts of many talented members of the Houston geoscience community to present high quality, state of the art programs on timely topics.

We pride ourselves in providing high quality, state of the art programs on timely topics, which are low cost, and which the participants can use immediately in their work.  We are very fortunate to have a large pool of talented and skilled geoscientists in the Houston area, who always give freely of their time and talents for the enrichment of our community.  Most of our programs are 1 day or 1/2 day courses and symposia.

A good example of the type of quality Continuing Education seminars was the October 2017 “A Practical Guide to Hydrocarbon Volumetric Calculations and Risking” presented by Dr. Eric Scott.

This course covered the considerations needed when calculating in-place hydrocarbons and the chance of finding it. The focus of the course was on understanding how to determine appropriate rock and fluid property input ranges, implications of the different methods of volume calculation and how the output volumes are modified.

The Continuing Education committee is headed by Thom Tucker. If you have an idea for a Continuing Education program or would like to join the Continuing Education

Most of our programs are 1 day or 1/2 day courses and symposia.

Click on the Continuing Education Committee events below for details of past events.

 

Lectures And Courses

NeoGeos Tour Thursday, October 7, 2004 - 12:00am
SIPES Fall Education Seminar Thursday, September 30, 2004 - 7:30am
Package Your Prospects Course Thursday, September 16, 2004 - 1:00pm
Polymer & Polymer-Gel Water Shutoff Treatments: What It Takes To Be Successful Wednesday, August 25, 2004 - 9:00am
SPE Deepwater Symposium Thursday, August 19, 2004 - 7:00am
From the Matrix to the Market – What You Don’t Know Wednesday, July 28, 2004 - 9:00am
Barnett Shale and Other Fort Worth Basin Plays Tuesday, June 22, 2004 - 9:00am
Four Corners Chama River Raft Trip Friday, June 18, 2004 - 8:30am
Seminar for TX Water Operators Tuesday, June 15, 2004 - 9:30am
HGS Grand Canyon Geology Field Trip Saturday, June 5, 2004 - 8:00am
Edwards Water Resources (Field Trip): Edwards Outcrops in San Antonio Area Saturday, May 22, 2004 - 8:00am
Edwards Water Resources in Central Texas: Retrospective and Prospective Friday, May 21, 2004 - 8:00am
Using Core Data in Formation Evaluation Tuesday, May 18, 2004 - 7:30am
NeoGeos Baker-Hughes Tour Thursday, January 29, 2004 - 2:00pm
NeoGeos Course: Wellsite Operations Saturday, December 6, 2003 - 11:00am
SPE-GCS/SWE Career Seminar Saturday, October 25, 2003 - 8:00am
Disappointing Seismic (Sold Out) Tuesday, October 21, 2003 - 7:00am
SIPES Course - Seismic Amplitude Interpretation Wednesday, October 15, 2003 - 8:30am