Student Scholarship Night Dazzles!

The Houston Geological Society held an exciting Scholarship NIght February 12th 2018 hosted by Past President John Tubb, current President John Adamick and Vice President Bob Wiener. The HGS Foundation Fund awarded scholarships to Keely Armstrong (Stephen F Austin) Christina Coleman (Sam Houston), Haley May (Lamar University) , Shannon Wang (Rice) and Danny Anderson (University of Texas). The Calvert Memorial Graduate scholarship committee awarded funds to Megan Brown (University of Colorado), John Cornwaite (Rice), Ryan Kissinger (TX A&M), Shawn Lopez ( Colorado School of Mines), Mariah Michie ( University of Houston), Walter Reed (University of Houston) and Mathew Sexton (University of Houston).  Wayne Xu took these great photos.

Charles Sternbach, AAPG President, spoke on "Lessons in Exploration Creativity from a Decade of Discovery Thinking Forums and AAPG's Global Super Basin Leadership Forum."